What Real Food is Like

Just two days ago, my boyfriend has left to return to London after spending 5 days in Malaysia and 5 days in Hong Kong with my parents and I. I still recall the gut wrenching feeling in my stomach waiting for Theo to arrive. I didn’t even know if it was good or bad, but all I knew was that I had never been more anxious.

Due to unfortunate events, Theo’s luggage got left behind, which was why he came out much later than expected and thus prolonged the raging pandemonium in my stomach and head. It was so distracting that I almost hadn’t noticed a tap on my arm, and when I turned around all my distress just ceased to exist. I gave a big smile and jumped up to hug Theo. Since then I no longer worried.

Right after landing in Hong Kong, Theo, my parents and I made our way for the next flight – to Malaysia, KL. Then drove the Ipoh the next day.

IMG_3963

My Uncle kindly bought us this crazy dragon dinner

That night, I introduced my boyfriend to quite a number of my relatives. My grandparents, aunts, uncle and cousin. Every day my parents and I stuffed Theo with food. Although he wasn’t a fan of durian, he did enjoy the mangosteen!

IMG_3973

Down Concubine Street

IMG_3979

The museum my Uncle Ian helped out with – Ipoh World

IMG_3986

362: Best Heong Peah ever!

IMG_3992

Dad’s Shadow

After the intense couple of days mostly being stuck travelling in a car and meeting loads of family and family friends, it was time to fly back to Hong Kong. Thank God that we managed to retrieve Theo’s luggage.

It was a strange yet oddly natural feeling for Theo to be in my home and to be in my room. It was thrilling and yet felt very right that he was there. I had to sleep in my parent’s room on an inflatable bed of course.

IMG_4005

Dinner with fam friends: strangest combo but fun nonetheless

IMG_4034

🙂

These 10 days were not exempt from fights. We had two, the second much more painful than the first. Although it was very painful, I’m glad that God did not abandon us. It was painful for the both of us to admit wrongs and to talk about it, but honestly Theo was far braver than I was. It definitely showed how difficult it is to be humbled and to not insist in my way.

(ESV) 1 Corinthians 13:4-5

Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful;

I have never had a long-term healthy relationship before. Theo is the best boyfriend I could ever ask for, and without me almost realising I met him and we started dating just like that! Sounds a little dodgy, of course we got to know each other first before going out, but what I mean to say is that during a time when I was not expecting to be with anyone or even looking for someone, God just provided.

Theo has been a great encouragement in faith much more than I have ever expected and in ways that I fall short in. I’m very glad and much of the time feel that I take for granted the many great things God has given me, which I feel so undeserving. I’m just very touched, and very grateful that Theo made the effort to come all the way to boiling Asia from the coldness of UK to spend time with me and to meet my family and friends.

 

Leave a Reply

