This World

God has been so kind to me. There’s so much that I am grateful for from the fact that I’m studying in London, have loving parents, reliable friends to a coat through the blasting rain and wind, a bed to sleep in after a 830am to 1030pm hours of work (on some days) or when my tutors are not on their good moods that I know that it is not man that I must please but God.

That even through all the suffering, there is a greater hope.

It’s easy to talk about the blessings that God has given me, but not always of what hardships that come in the way. It is easy to look back and say ‘yes, I’ve overcome’.

The notion of a broken family to me is distressing. It may not be as much for others because perhaps they may be used to it. I wouldn’t say my family quarrels are any different to other family arguments. There’s still favoritism, disagreements, suspicions and belittling. This centers mainly on my Grandparents because… I don’t know if I’ve mentioned that my Grandmother had cancer. When I first heard the news, I wasn’t scared at all. I prayed to God to help her and provide her the least pain, asked all my friends and anyone and everyone I knew to pray for her. But I prayed if God, it is her time may she go in peace and I’ll see her again.

And praise God! She survived her operation. However, things started to change since then, she hasn’t been as joyful in Jesus, she hasn’t sang praise nor been enthusiastic in talking about Jesus. I longed to hear those Jesus songs she sang as I grew up. Only since 2 years ago was I finally able to understand why she loved Jesus so much. And because of this depression, it made a big impact. Cancer with God? Fine. Life without God? I’m disheartened.

Anyway, my parents went back to Malaysia quite recently to visit them and they are now back in Hong Kong where my Dad works. From what my parents have told me, there has been much hurt and pain between siblings (by the way this is my Dad’s side of the family). My Grandmother complaining about how she hasn’t been treated well by her daughter, jealousy and envy arise. Now they are staying in an old folks home, but at least my Dad FaceTimes them and my other relatives try to take care of them. It’s not taking care that’s the main issue, but rather the hurt and unforgiving hearts of my aunt and uncle in particular.

I’m glad my parents have made me aware, though I would have preferred to know when it was happening so that I can pray about it. Never underestimate the power of prayer. It has worked wonders and although the outcome may never be as perfect as you think it would, God only knows what the ultimate outcome will be.

That’s the hardest thing about being a Christian. That trusting in God and who He is … There really wouldn’t be a point if he wasn’t a good God. If God isn’t good, that He doesn’t know how to take care of us or provide for us in the long run, in the afterlife, why should I follow him? I have good reason to trust in Him, but I won’t go into that now since it’s not the purpose of this post.

Instead, I hope to encourage.

Philippians 4:12-13

I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

God does not always give us an escape route, but instead is with us through the storm. Yet we should give thanks in

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Jesus Christ

as…

James 1:17

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.

I’ll be FaceTime-ing my Grandparents later, I can’t believe my Dad bought an iPad so we can communicate, but yeah so I’m hoping that I can make more effort to keeping in contact because to be honest I haven’t been very good.

One thought on “This World

  1. Dearest Hilda, words cannot express enough how thankful I am to our good Lord for the wonderful blessings and graces He has given to my lovely daughter. I will always pray that you will always walk in Him and do His will. Thank you for your kind thoughts and prayers for your grandma.
    Love, daddy

Leave a Reply

