Miruka Arai my Roomie <3

This is my roommate’s blog! We came from the same high school, though we weren’t friends. When she heard I was going to UCL, she asked if we could room together. I said sure right away! Didn’t know God made this plan for us at all… 

Here’s her blog: http://miru8031.tumblr.com/

She currently is studying Philosophy and her blog is mainly about bringing together ideas of philosophy and Christianity. She also writes about other daily things like how I do like food, books, travels etc.

Here is a sample of one of her writings:

Cultural diversity and truth.

I can’t count how many times people mention cultural diversity as “evidence” to refute the existence of truth. First, truth cannot be contingent on anything- that is the very definition of truth. The Earth has to be either round or not round, and that fact isn’t altered by whether or not we believe it to be round.(the Earth doesn’t suddenly become flat the minute I believe it to be flat, nor does it become round because people believe so.) Truth is independent and external to our beliefs.

So the idea of subjectivity and diversity is not an excuse to stop searching the truth. It’s good that our society is trying to embrace diversity, but the truth is another matter. Truth cannot be “diverse.” Something is either this or that. I am either a human or not a human. Just because an opinion exists, it doesn’t make it valid. A good advice is to “keep an open mind- but not so open that your brain falls out.”

If I say, “I am the King of the world and you have to obey me,” and if you are in your right mind, you will believe that this is wrong. You may also kindly expose my error. Being kind to me is one thing, but asserting that my assertion is true is another thing. Accepting me as a person is different to accepting what I assert to be true. 

A famous quote from Rick Warren: “Our culture has accepted two huge lies. The first is that if you disagree with someone’s lifestyle, you must fear or hate them. The second is that to love someone means you agree with everything they believe or do. Both are nonsense. You don’t have to compromise convictions to be compassionate.”

We shouldn’t be rude or devalue people if they say something that you don’t believe to be true. We also shouldn’t say that an opinion is true because it exists. (This is essentially what is said when people say “there are so many religions in the world, so truth is subjective. Truth is different for everybody.”) Truth by definition cannot be contingent on people opinions. An opinion’s validity is not determined by its existence.

Finally, the postmodernist assertion that there is no truth is ironically also a truth statement…  

Leave a Reply

