God’s Plan? What is that!

Earlier today I nearly lost my phone!

I was walking towards the studio with my roommate when suddenly I needed the bathroom. There just so happened to be a Starbucks so we went to look for the toilet. There was a queue at the toilet entrance so as I waited I took out my phone. When I went in I rested it on the top of the tissue paper container. You can guess I forgot to take it and after 10 minutes of walking out of Starbucks I realized my phone was missing. I ran to my roommate after we went our separate ways and asked her to call my phone.

Nothing.

Struck with annoyance, I knew I had to run all the way back. After running for a few minutes it hit me it might be gone. I was just so into running that that thought really caught me by surprise.

What was I going to do? Suddenly I felt worried. If I have really lost my (new) phone, I would be so welled up with guilt I wouldn’t know how to face my parents! After all, I am repeating the year… I will be living (hopefully) in London and maybe even jobless before I start my project in the second term… having to spend an extra years worth of rent and now I lost my phone?

I prayed to God hard. If I had really lost my phone, I knew I had to stay in Hong Kong until the second term. I could not bare the idea of wasting any more money. My parents money. 

I opened the toilet door. Not there. I went to the counter and asked staff if they had my phone. 

Within seconds it was in the palm of my hands.

Thank the Lord and bless whoever turned in my phone :’)!!!!!!!

I texted my roommate: found it NAUABHSBSK THANK GOD MOST HIGH JESUS CHRIST HOLY SPIRIT OUR SAVIOUR.

And as I walked back to the studio I was so overwhelmed, so thankful, so grateful. Just continuously praising God. So ridiculous. I was thinking if this never happened I would never have received the Holy Spirit’s passionate praise and worship towards God. 

I don’t get it! What is God doing!? I know for the past few days I’ve been lacking spiritually at least not so much. I prayed about it and well. Look what happened! 

I’ll never understand God’s work. Then it got me thinking … God’s will? My will? 

Proverbs 16:9
In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps.

The big, little and crazy ways the Lord brings us closer to Him. I know this little incident is just.. crazy. There are those who come to know God through the wars that they live through, the torture they experience. For me? The fact that I almost lost my phone! All the more that I should be grateful. Then I thought about:

1 Corinthians 10:13
No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.

And also Luke 18:9-14 about the Parable of the Pharisee and the Tax Collectorwhich helps me understand that God is a fair judge and to trust in Him. 

Then I watched Ravi Zacharias’ talk:

From the video, Zacharias tells us the main thing that God teaches us are:

  • Humility
  • Spirituality
  • Faith

We have good reason to believe in what we believe in. The bible: God’s word. The prophecies, the prediction of the resurrection. The scripture that has been found all those long years ago. The historians and many others that acknowledge Christ’s existence. Those who wrote about Jesus during His time.

Zacharias also mentions near the end of the talk that a mathematician (from Cardiff) and astronomer (from Cambridge) claim the enzymes that make up us humans is so unbelievable because the possibility of it happening by accident would be 1 in 10^40,000. It was said to be mathematically impossible!

Therefore the astronomer looked to the panspermia theory, which proposes life on Earth did not originate on our planet, but was transported here from somewhere else in the universe. Hm. What faith they have…….

Another interesting thing that Zacharias mentions is that when God asked Noah to build the ark, he gave him every single detail for him to make it. However, 2 things were not there. There was no sail, no rudder. Noah could not control it. 

There will come a time in your life where you’ll have to say I have no sail, I have no rudder. Place your trust in the Lord. 

Sigh. What does it mean to have free will!?!?!?

Proverbs 16:9
In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps.

As a Christian I struggle to answer this question. Amongst many others. 

However, I love and put my faith in the Lord. It’s amazing what God does to bring us to Him. 

One thought on “God’s Plan? What is that!

  1. I know that feeling of thinking that your favourite phone may be lost. It is a small time panic. .. When you start to think about the implications of actually losing the phone. Then when you actually find the lost phone. .. a great relief dawns. You will start to tell yourself to be mindful of keeping your phone better and perhaps even try to change some of the ways at least in handling your phone. I too have my share of such panics. . Even more becos I have come to live longer as I am much older than you are. Thinking about the good Lord in such circumstance is really a good thing. At the very least this helps increase and bring closer our relationship with our Lord. Yes, Trust in the Lord always. . In good times and bad. He has his ways to bless us. .. It is not for us to know how. .
    I follow your thoughts on your blog with total awe. You are a very special child. We love you.

Leave a Reply

