What do you really need?

I have just finished Skyping with one of my best friends. He’s gay. He is currently studying in the US and has found someone he truly likes. He, however, has asked God if he could be with the guy he likes. No is his answer. Could they still be close friends? No. But would they continue to be apart of each others lives? Yes. My best friend tells me he’s going through a tough time and he shouts out to God asking why did he have to meet this guy if it was not meant to be. 

I see what God is trying to do, He’s trying to reach out to my friend. I just pray some day he will see it. I know it isn’t the right time for me to say anything yet, at least when my friend isn’t ready. My friend told me, the guy he likes has been the only person to have ever made him feel beautiful… and from it seems it includes being loved. The thing is, God is the ultimate answer to his needs. The whole reason for God is because he loves us unconditionally and it is so difficult to get out of the mindset that human love is the answer. The idea of relationship love has been so publicized and the media has distorted and shaped how one should experience it to be in an entirely twisted manner.

Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.

I know my friend believes in God, but still does not fully grasp the concept of the belief. I just pray that my friend will put his trust in the Lord, to know that in His eyes my friend is beautiful outside, inside, and appreciated. My friend hopefully will earnestly seek God and to try to understand what His plans are for us all.

Leave a Reply

